Pregnancy should be planned

Like many newly wed couples, my husband and I chose to let nature takes its own course on conceiving. A miscarriage a few months after our wedding changed my attitude towards conceiving. It taught me that I have to plan for my next pregnancy. Now I go around preaching to my friends about the need to plan for pregnancy. I believe in taking charge so that one can have a happy pregnancy.

  1. What it means to plan for a pregnancy: 1) Take folic acid about three months before trying to conceive.
  2. Plot your temperature daily to know your own ovulation cycle. This saves you time and energy (giggle). This especially important for those who wish to try for a gender, this is important. After trying to conceive, continue to plot your temperature so that you will know if you are pregnant or not even before your pregnancy test kit tells you so. 
  3. Be healthy. Quit smoking and drinking if you have such habits. Never try to conceive when either person is sick. 
  4. For ladies with low blood count or low blood pressure, consult your doctor on how you can improve the condition. 
  5. Read up about what to do and what not to do when trying to conceive.

Big Fat Positive

About chewingonit

I'm a mother of two, facing challenges each day in all aspects including building family ties, relationship building, parenting, income earning, career building, self-awareness, intellectual learning, ... the list goes on.
This entry was posted in Trying to Conceive and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pregnancy should be planned

  1. Iwannahavagal says:

    Hi. I’m trying for a girl as I already have a boy. Any idea how to up my chances of getting a girl? Thanks!!

    • chewingonit says:

      Dear Iwannahavagal,
      I am happy to share the method I have used. It’s the Shettles Method… the theory that girl sperms are slower swimmers and they live longer. Here’s a link for detailed reading.
      http://www.babyhopes.com/articles/how-to-conceive-a-girl.html

      If you use the ClearBlue ovulation kit which I did, it says that you get positive results 24-48 hours before ovulation.
      If you follow the Shettles Method strictly, you should “TRY” around 1 to 2 days before you are tested positive, and MUST stop “TRYING” on the day you tested positive. In order to do this, you really need to plot your Bascal Chart….. and based on historical data, you would be able to predict when is 2 to 3 days before your ovulation.

      To chart my temperature, I used a Basal Thermometer (which has 2 decimal places).

      Feel free to ask me questions, if any.
      Hope the above helps.

Leave a Reply

