Courage to speak up

My girl is a wonderful little lady. She shares some of my traits; genetically I guess?

When I got bullied or hurt (eg a neighbour hits me, my last finger got hit by a basketball during school, etc), something in me stops me from screaming out loud. I only learned to scream in public when my girl classmates in Primary five (age 11) taught me to cheer for our classmates participating in a school sports day.

My girl has returned home on from school on some days, reporting to her Grandma and me, that her classmate pushed her, or hit her head, or leg. When asked if she told her teacher, she would shake her head.

She loves to scream at home. I love her voice which sometimes hurts my ear drums when it gets too high in pitch. Some weeks back, I told her she has a beautiful voice, and should use it at the right time and place. I role played her classmate and pretended pushing her, and she had to scream “Teacher, he pushed me!”. We repeated the role play with pinches, and hitting. My boy wanted to role play too, and I taught him the same messages I was suggesting my girl could use.

There was one occasion of a boy hitting her head after we role played. She admitted that she didn’t alert her teacher. I didn’t make her feel bad because I knew she was not ready.

20120329-151340.jpg
On Monday, she happily told me that she told her teacher that her classmate hit her leg. I cheered for her. I praised her for taking the most appropriate action.

My Mother-In-Law told me in her presence that my girl hasten her pace on her way home from school just to take the same lift as that classmate and his mom. She didn’t tell his mom he hit her, and my Mother-In-Law commented she has no courage. I would have agreed if I had not attended the Appreciation Education Talk.

I hugged my girl, patted her chest gently and told her it was perfectly alright if she did not tell her classmate’s mom about it. I congratulated her on how she managed to take her first step in telling her teacher and that was very courageous of her. I clapped. I wanted to instill positivity in her. More importantly, after I adopted the attitude of Appreciation Education, I genuinely found her ability to speak up in school on Monday worth celebrating.

Cheers to Appreciation Education!

About chewingonit

I'm a mother of two, facing challenges each day in all aspects including building family ties, relationship building, parenting, income earning, career building, self-awareness, intellectual learning, ... the list goes on.
This entry was posted in Parenting, teaching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

