Fatherhood stages 1 & 2

A colleague told me his friend who has a one year old baby enjoys fatherhood and is encouraging him to have one too.

My colleague is in a serious relationship but not married yet, and has not experienced fatherhood. He asked me if my husband feels “Fatherhood is awesome!” like his friend. I let out a laugh as our parenthood journey flashes in my mind.

Of course my husband is glad to be a Daddy. Our lovely kids are our pride and joy! But as the saying goes, “Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus” we are programmed differently and we often get into dead locks regarding what parenting roles entail.

My feminist impression of Fatherhood is described below.


Fatherhood Stage 1
Fathers to newborns and babies:

“Fatherhood is awesome! Babies are fascinating”!
(while wife is dead tired from non-stop cycles of breast feeding and burping baby)

“Oh! My baby sleeps through the night” (wife feeds & changes baby)


Fatherhood Stage 2
Fathers to toddlers:

“Dear, we’re running out of milk, I’m gonna get it now.”
(Toddler is about to wake up from his/her nap)

“Dear, my office just called. It’s urgent. I’ll take the call in the study”
(As toddler starts to throw a tantrum over sweets that ran out)

20120814-172231.jpg

About chewingonit

I'm a mother of two, facing challenges each day in all aspects including building family ties, relationship building, parenting, income earning, career building, self-awareness, intellectual learning, ... the list goes on.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Thoughts and Feelings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fatherhood stages 1 & 2

Leave a Reply

