Drawing as a form of creativity

After being in this world and experiencing life for more than thirty years, I choose to believe I’m slightly creative. Creativity can be in many forms, for example, seen in drawings, doodles, colouring, pretend plays, finding similarities and opposites in real life situations.

I hope my children will grow up with a bit of creativity injected in their life. My daughter is very detailed in her colouring, but can do fast ones too after I shared with her that there are times her teacher may need them to complete a colouring piece within a specific time. She is adaptable, like me. I adore our similarities in many ways, excluding my new discovery that she seems to have a stomach as weak as mine 😦

Last week I taught her to draw with simple shapes, like circles, ovals and triangles. I demonstrated by drawing a chick with circle and oval. (shown below).

20120823-164643.jpg

She eagerly tried. And exclaimed “I don’t know how to do the oval!”. So I showed her a one-circle chick. But she lost interest. (so fast? Yes!) I’m a little worried that she isn’t confident – have been worrying and working with her on this since she was two years of age.

It could well be that her attention span was short, as we did a snowman drawing just before the chick drawing. I showed her my version (show below).

20120823-164805.jpg

And when I came out of my room while she was doodling, this was what I saw. It’s only a centimetre tall. BUT I LOVE IT! (and I told her so).

20120823-170029.jpg
She is learning to write her letters in smaller fashion in kindergarten, and this might have triggered the smallness in the snowman. I choose to believe her doodles are helping improve her creativity shown in her drawings.

A couple of days later, I saw these drawings she executed at a fast pace. What a pleasant surprise! They look so pretty to mummy!

(a) she told me this is a boy:

20120825-103714.jpg

(b) a girl:

20120825-103828.jpg

(c) a chick – the position of the circle and oval shapes are similar to the one I demonstrated to her (see first picture above).

20120825-104103.jpg

(d) a bear:

20120825-113835.jpg

(e) a robot she drew for her younger cousin:

20120825-114136.jpg

My take is that she was under peer pressure, as all three children (my kids and niece) were told to sit on the same table to draw. I’m not judging her; it’s an observation that she wants to set a good example to her younger siblings. I’ll guide her competitive nature (a trait of mine too) towards a healthy path.

About chewingonit

I'm a mother of two, facing challenges each day in all aspects including building family ties, relationship building, parenting, income earning, career building, self-awareness, intellectual learning, ... the list goes on.
This entry was posted in Doodles, Parenting, Thoughts and Feelings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

