Business means work life integration

Running a small business is time consuming. Well, “running” a small family is much more time consuming. I missed blogging, and today I have squeezed time for a simple post on how my typical mornings pass by in a flash.

I had a late night, so I stayed a little longer in bed this morning (this is the best part of owning a business, but I pay forward with late nights).

10.20am – I was awaken by screams and cries. GerGer and BoiBoy quarreled over a name tag. I went over to them to just talk to them. My usually style is : (1) First seek to understand, and so I asked them what happened, without judging. I listened and let them have an outlet for their anger as they told me their views. (2) Second, use stories to associate their behaviour with. There is a story about two squirrels – siblings – who quarreled and was almost eaten by a snake because they didn’t stay vigilant and wasted time on arguing over a sweet. (sorry readers, I made this story up. I don’t know if snakes eat squirrels and I know squirrels don’t eat sweets. I just had to have a story that they can associate with).   [ ….. read full post here]

About chewingonit

I'm a mother of two, facing challenges each day in all aspects including building family ties, relationship building, parenting, income earning, career building, self-awareness, intellectual learning, ... the list goes on.
This entry was posted in Business, Family, marriage, Parenting, Thoughts and Feelings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

